Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is starting a banquet hall a good idea even if I have no food service experience?

Default Is starting a banquet hall a good idea even if I have no food service experience?

Hello, everyone. I've been trying to figure out for a long time what I've wanted to do. I had no idea but I knew one thing, I always wanted to own my own business but I had no idea what until today. I would love to own a banquet hall that caters to receptions and other special events.

I want to be able to provide some supplies like chairs, tables, silverware, etc. I like the idea of recruiting, marketing, alcohol, and all of that not necessarily be an event planner. The thing is, I know a lot of banquet halls have in-house catering but I don't know if I'd like to start off that way. I don't have restaurant or catering experience but I do come from a family of business entrepreneurs that are successful in Asian grocery, restaurant, day care, etc.

I do have an idea of what I'd like to do though. I mean, not everyone likes the option of HAVING to go by the banquet caterers but would like to provide their own food or choice of cater. I would like to partner up with some restaurants or caterers that might be able to give them a decent rate while we can still make profit. Is this doable without having a whole restaurant/banquet?

Also, what about rent? I would like to own but I know it's very pricey.

I don't think I've ever felt so excited and passionate about a business idea. It's something I'm still researching on. I know there's so much to think about like licenses, rent, etc. Oh, and target audience.

I'd like it to be mixed. There's a big Asian community that likes it cheap and brings their own stuff and just wants a place to rent.
    But then again, I'd like to cater to everyone not just the Asian community.

Like all businesses, it's a very scary idea but I'm very interested.
    Last edited by chelle21689; 06-03-2013 at 01:25 PM.

Array