Thread: Would like your thoughts on my current situation.

Default Would like your thoughts on my current situation.

History:

I currently work full time as a structural steel detailer for a privately owned/run steel fabricator. I've been employed with this company for almost 11 years and continue to enjoy my job and the people I work for. I have no future plans on leaving to pursue my own business full time. However back in 2008 I did decide that I wanted to detail for myself (nights & weekends). I was in need of extra money and figured this was the easiest way to get a second job. So I created a business name and registered it so that I was legit. Back in 2008 I had a connection who was able to send clients in my direction. It was also back when the economy was still thriving. Now it's 2011 and my connection has since retired and the economy is a mess. I continue to work for the same (3) clients that I've had from the start but the work load isn't what it once was. So this leads me to why I'm here looking for help/advice.

So as you can guess I'm in the process of figuring out how best to get my foot in the door with new clients without the help of my connection.

My first hurdle is that I have never mentioned to my boss what I do on the side. At the time I didn't feel it was an issue as I wasn't out publicizing what I did. But now that I need to start looking for more clients this seems like an issue. I don't feel I can take complete advantage of all the ways to drum up business if I'm worried my boss is going to come across it. I don't think he would have an issue with it as long as it's on my own time but at the same time I'm not a 100% sure. So I'm torn between saying something or not saying something and have him find out. ugh!