Thread: Welcome, 855 CAR-KEYS

Array

Default Welcome, 855 CAR-KEYS

Hi everybody! My name is Barry, I'm a locksmith in Denver, CO and would like to take an active party in this forum.
    I hope to learn from you a lot on how to hold a small business with a lot of competition from the big sharks, and hopefully I can teach others when the time is right.

We specialized in car keys, high security laser cut keys, proximity fobs commercial & Residential hardware, door closer and alignment, prox card readers, keyless entry devices, safety deposit boxes opening (without drilling) and many more.

I found it very hard to hold a business with so many competitors quoting low rates over the phone then upsale in forn of the customer.

In the past few years we are working hard on educating the public to ask for an upfront pricing or request a free estimate but it is still so hard.

I believe most of you had the same problems and I wish to know how did you do it. How did you brand your business to be different and found your niche in the market.

Again, I'm here to learn and here to teach - and I wish I will have the opportunity to do them both.

Barry
    Barry O.
    Denver Locksmiths * Email
    855 CAR-KEYS

Post Impressionist
    Array

Blog Entries

Welcome to the forum Barry. We're practically neighbors.

I'm not sure if trying to educate people is the right approach. It's certainly good to share knowledge and help people know more, but I think the better way to approach your business is to find where you offer more value to the competition and then show that value in your marketing. Naturally price could be one way to offer value, but it's not the only way. I see a couple of mentions of safety in your comments. Maybe that's a way to add value. Letting people know how you help protect the things in their lives. Another approach could be the convenience of the keyless entry. It's all about appealing to an emotional need or desire in your customer.