Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here

Array

Default Newbie here

Hi everyone,

My name is John and I am one of the creators of Grabbd.com It is a daily deal website similar to Groupon.

I created the site after a business I tried to get listed on Groupon.

My site will help you get customers for a lot less than what Groupon charges for commission.

We're a small company in Columbus Ohio and we hope to go live with the site in the next few weeks so we are looking for small businesses to get listed.

Thanks.
    Have you grabbd your deal today?

Array

Thank You. Glad to be here.

Post Impressionist
    Array

Blog Entries

Welcome to the forum John. I know Groupon is the 800 pound gorilla in the industry, but I haven't heard of many competing sites. Makes sense to enter the market. Just a thought. Often when taking on the big layer it makes sense to start in a niche. Is that possible for you? Like being the group coupon site for a specific industry of in a specific location.

Thanks for joining the community.
    l Join me as I share my creative process and journey as a writer | StevenBradley.me
    l Design, Development, Marketing, and SEO Tutorials | Steven Bradley's Notebook
    l Get my book about Design Fundamentals

John, welcome to the forum. I'll be interested to follow your progress. Sounds interesting. In Chicago, where Groupon started and is big, there are several websites that are variations of the idea. But it seems like a concept that should have room for several competitors in most larger markets.

Queen of the Forum
    Array

Blog Entries

Welcome to the forum John. Good luck with your new site.

Refugee from the .com
    Array

Welcome aboard. I'll agree with vangogh to look for a way to stand out. Just trying to be another Groupon is not the best approach. Look for a weakness and do something better. That is also a good example of the kind of useful insight you will get here on the SBF.