Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blocking Unwanted Visitors

Default Blocking Unwanted Visitors

I have an ecommerce site that hasn't been used in several years. I have about 6k products on it and it still gets traffic. I wanted to see what products get traffic so i put a hit counter on it. I've never done that before and the results are kind of interesting. A lot of the hits I'm getting are unwanted. I only do business in the US for the most part. I got a bunch of hits from Vietnam for example. A hit every second for a few minutes for pages that don't exist on the site. Obviously someone up to no good...

I'm just curious what others are doing to block unwanted traffic to their site.

Incidentally, I am getting some good information on products being searched. At a minimum it should help me in what products to push. Which product pages to update first etc. I'll have to see where it leads me. I just got it working earlier today and it's not a weekend sort of product line.

Web Consultant
    Array
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by billbenson View Post
    I have an ecommerce site that hasn't been used in several years. I have about 6k products on it and it still gets traffic. I wanted to see what products get traffic so i put a hit counter on it. I've never done that before and the results are kind of interesting. A lot of the hits I'm getting are unwanted. I only do business in the US for the most part. I got a bunch of hits from Vietnam for example. A hit every second for a few minutes for pages that don't exist on the site. Obviously someone up to no good...

I'm just curious what others are doing to block unwanted traffic to their site.
    "Someone is up to no good" is an understatement. Millions of someone's are up to no good and looking for holes to exploit in your site, my site, and every other site on the internet.
    Most times it's not even humans, it's bots.