Thread: Freelance Video Producer Needs Tax Info Help

Question Freelance Video Producer Needs Tax Info Help

Hello,

I am a solopreneur, starting a video production company in NY. It's currently registered as a DBA
    until I can afford an LLC. I also have a part time job on the side.

As a producer, I intend to land the clients myself and then contract out a videographer to shoot/edit the
    videos I direct for small business owners.

I have been doing research on taxes but it gets a little overwhelming to me sometimes. Since this work
    consists of providing a consultation and selling digital video, I will not have to collect sales tax in NYS.
    However, I am still confused when it comes to the types of federal forms I am responsible to fill out and
    file for tax purposes, as well as how often I am required to pay business taxes to the IRS.

When a client pays me, am I supposed to receive a form from them to fill out called a 1099?
    I also would like to know what forms (if any) would I have to fill out when I pay my freelancer.

I read somewhere, that if I don't want to put my SS # on the 1099 form I get from clients, I should
    consider getting an EIN even though I am not required to.

Would really appreciate someone to help give me greater clarity. Thanks!
    Video Producer & Strategist

Mr. Tax Man
    Array

You should obtain an EIN for your DBA by visiting IRS.gov and completing their SS-4 application online. You can get an EIN in just a few minutes and it will help provide some separation between you and the business.

Your business will need to file Schedule C when you file your individual tax return. There you'll report your income and expenses. Certain things you buy such as camera lenses or cameras will end up being capitalized and be depreciated over their useful life (usually 5 years). There are elections that can be made to expense it all up-front.