Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Running personal websites on a company server

Default Running personal websites on a company server

I have a web server that I am currently renting personally. It runs my personal website and the websites of my business partners (who are also my friends).

We were considering paying for this server with our start-up's funds and putting our company website on it. We are an LLC.

The problem is that we are unsure if it is okay to run our personal websites on the same server as our company website. Would this provide the ability for courts to pierce the corporate veil in a lawsuit?

I understand the security concerns of running personal websites alongside company websites, but I'm more interested in the legal aspect of it.

Thanks

Post Impressionist
    Array

Blog Entries

First, I'm not a lawyer so take my legal opinion with a grain of salt.

I wouldn't think being on the same server is an issue, except in the case where the company owns the server, which sounds like what you're describing. If the business is paying for the server it's hard to argue that the personal sites have nothing to do with the business.

I wouldn't keep your personal sites there even if it is legal though. As a general rule you want to keep business and personal separate and that's a specific reason why you incorporate in the first place, to keep your personal and business separate.