PDA

View Full Version : WHAT ABOUT EMPLOYEES??? New ownership!

Sooooperman
09-21-2013, 04:49 AM
I have been a manager of a small family owned restaurant for the past 7 years and I am currently in the works of taking over 100% of the ownership. If I were to become the owner I would basically do much more work than what the current owners, and this would result in several full time employees not being required by me. Since we are all "at-will" employees, can I make any changes I want in terms of employees hours, vacation time, health benefits? I just need to make sure that when I become owner that I have the ability to make whatever changes I need to the staff.

Steve B
09-21-2013, 08:00 AM
Wow - you really MUST be sooooperman to be able to do the work of several full time employees. Did the current owner just have these people sitting around doing little or nothing? I've certainly seen situations like that before - this is what makes it a great opportunity for you.

The answer to your question depends a lot on where you live and how many employees work in the organization. Without that information, it's impossible to give you a credible answer.

Sooooperman
09-21-2013, 09:36 AM
I live in California and there are about 20 employees. Yes most of the work I would be taking over is prepping of food and I would be increasing my work days from 4 days to 5 or 6. Which would eliminate about 40 hours if not more a week. The current owners basically pay people to do all of their work, where as I would take over and do the work myself. Especially since the current workers take their time and "milk" the hours they are there.

DisQ
09-21-2013, 07:14 PM
I would be increasing my work days from 4 days to 5 or 6. Which would eliminate about 40 hours if not more a week.
Huh??

Thats 20 hours work per day assuming you add 2 days)
What are those people doing there?
You are right to change things if it is that bad.

Sooooperman
09-22-2013, 02:17 AM