PDA

View Full Version : Joining an existing company restaurant

Sooooperman
09-01-2013, 01:14 AM
I need help!! I am a manager of a small but very successful family owned restaurant. There are currently 3 people who split the shares of the restaurant. They are split 70% 27% and 3%. The two people who are the 70 and 27 do not actually work at the restaurant anymore. They each only work about 10 hours a week and even then they only do little paperwork. They approached me and asked if I would be interested in opening another store since I have the cash to do so.

Instead of giving me some of their shares, they would just add more shares to the existing store and basically I would become a 10% owner of the corporation. Now here are my questions...

1. What determines what each one of us is paid since some of us work 90 hours a pay period compared to some who only work 10?

2. Does having more shares mean you get paid more?

3. Can the 70% person take anything he wants because he is majority or do all owners have to agree what each owner is paid?

I basically don't want to get screwed over by the current owners who already take a huge income from a store where I am literally doing all the work and the hours? Because if I became owner I do not agree to what the other owners are paying themselves for the small amount of hours they work.

Paul
09-01-2013, 01:22 AM
Pay is not related to shares. It's a seperate issue altogether.

It's not unusual to just add shares, its common. However, yes, the majority shareholders can do whatever they like unless there is some other voting agreement. Just like they are giving you shares they can basically give anyone shares such as other family memebers resulting in your shares being diluted. if you go forward you want a "non-dilution" clause. that means no matter how many shares they issue you will always have 10%.