PDA

View Full Version : Help! Is this a good idea?

Akers_63
08-12-2013, 10:17 AM
I'm wanting to open a quick lube shop and the place i want to open it is perfect but the land is expenses. The average income in this town is $122,700 and there are no quick lube or repair shops within 15 miles. The traffic count is around 16,000 a day. The land is right over an acre and cost $455,000 so with all and all I would need to take a loan out for around $550,000-$650,000, will I be able to get a loan for that much? Would it be better just to do a long term lease with the option to buy?
This will be my first business but I have been an ASE certified mechanic and manger of a mechanic shop for the pass five years and want to start my own now. I also have an associates in business. I know this is a lot of money for a first business but according to my business plan if all goes right I will have no trouble making my loan payment and pay everything else. My boss always said "if you're going to do it you mine as well do it right." I could buy in a different place and spend half the money but I would not make near what I would at this location.
Any info or just advice will be greatly appreciated, thanks for your time.

MyITGuy
08-12-2013, 11:20 AM
Personally, that traffic count seems low...sounds like a 1 lane road in each direction. Are there other alternatives in the same area, but on a more traveled road (I.E. 40K+)?

Regarding the loan, this would be subject to your personal credit history. Do you have great credit? Do you have clear/free assets worth 550K+ that can be used as collateral?

Also, have you wondered why there are no other shops in the area? With that type of average income I'm betting the owners have some mid/high end cars and likely would only trust them (or can only be serviced by) the dealer...which means you won't get as much business as you are hoping for.

Wozcreative
08-12-2013, 11:42 AM