PDA

View Full Version : Angular.js

Brian Altenhofel
07-13-2013, 08:14 PM
Any of you front-end developers work with this? What's the learning curve?

PayForWords
08-05-2013, 01:26 AM
Never heard of it. Sorry!

vangogh
08-05-2013, 02:11 AM
I've heard of it though I haven't worked with it. It does look interesting and it comes out of Google so I assume it's done well. I usually don't jump on every framework I see though since it seems like a new one is out every week. net.tuts+ had an article explaining why you'd want to use angular.js (http://net.tutsplus.com/tutorials/javascript-ajax/3-reasons-to-choose-angularjs-for-your-next-project/) a few months ago in case you hadn't seen.

zellwk
08-07-2013, 06:10 AM
I've worked with Angular JS for a small little app that I'm trying to develop on the side. Bear in mind that I'm quite new to Javascript and my reviews might be twarted a little.

Basically, Angular JS is extremely different from all other frameworks like you might have known, you might have to drop everything that you previous knew and relearn angular. That might be one learning curve already (I used a little jquery and I got totally stumped in the beginning)

Easy stuff are real easy to learn in Angular JS, then the learning curve quickly escalates upwards since there are no great documentation.

You will probably need quite a bit of time to learn Angular if you're trying to pick it up.

On the flipside, its a fabulous framework and the way I write in both HTML and JS makes me understand what actually is happening, and it is easier to find mistakes.

Just my two cents on it. If you want to find out more / have some basic questions to ask about angular, let me know :)

Brian Altenhofel
08-07-2013, 06:54 PM
I don't work with Javascript except in very rare circumstances, so I'd pretty much be starting clean.