PDA

View Full Version : I need advice on how to get a bar started.

iceman_extreme
06-09-2013, 07:07 PM
Hello,

I am a Veteran trying to open a bar with a patriotic theme. I am new and need advice and tips on getting started, but especially how to raise the capitol or "seed money" for the venture. Here is the website I started to explain my goal. supportmilitarydreams.com Please visit and comment on what I need to do differently to suceed. Thanks again for any support or advise.

Mike

Wozcreative
06-09-2013, 09:20 PM
I like the theme, have you tried looking into kickstarter.com?

Harold Mansfield
06-10-2013, 09:33 AM
Hello,
I am a Veteran trying to open a bar with a patriotic theme. I am new and need advice and tips on getting started, but especially how to raise the capitol or "seed money" for the venture. Here is the website I started to explain my goal. supportmilitarydreams.com Please visit and comment on what I need to do differently to succeed. Thanks again for any support or advise.
Mike

Sounds like you have absolutely no experience in the bar industry. It is not a business that I recommend trying to learn as you go along. Inexperience will cost you a lot of money, cause you to hire the wrong people, and can kill your chances of making it before you even open the doors. If you've never worked in a bar before I highly suggest that you do or you will waste whatever money you get and likely fail, unless you can afford to hire a good, experienced bar manager.

The bar business is vastly different from state to state. I've worked in the industry for over 20 years in MI, FL, and NV and I wouldn't give the same advice to people in all 3 states. It's different. Unfortunately I know nothing about running a bar in CA.