PDA

View Full Version : wordpress for beginners

billbenson
01-21-2009, 08:19 PM
I'm going through the wordpress tutorial: First Steps With WordPress WordPress Codex (http://codex.wordpress.org/First_Steps_With_WordPress)

I've never used wordpress before, so excuse stupid questions.

I uploaded a new theme. I go to the dashboard and select change theme in the center top section or appearance in the left column. I select a theme, either the one I uploaded or one of the preinstalled ones. It show the selected them, but if I open up the index page in the site in a new tab, the defaut theme is still there, so the theme has not been changed, its just showing a sample of the new theme in the admin section.

How do you actually change the theme. I tried clearing cache BTW.

Never Mind - I didn't see the activate link in the upper right corner.

orion_joel
01-21-2009, 10:07 PM
You need to select apply theme in the top right hand corner of the preview when it opens up.

vangogh
01-21-2009, 10:33 PM
Bill if you're interested WordPress just put up a new site with video tutorials at WordPress.tv (http://wordpress.tv/). I haven't watched any yet, but I assume the videos are well done.

billbenson
01-21-2009, 11:36 PM
Thanks Joel, I found it after I posted. I also figured there might be some lurkers here interested in trying WP, so a thread on the subject may be appropriate.

The video is good VG. There were actually 4 videos there. Seems like a work in progress where they will be adding more videos. For anybody just thinking about using it, take a look at the videos. It shows how easy the program is to use for a number of features.