PDA

View Full Version : increasing traffic with articles?

marshalltown
01-18-2009, 06:19 PM
hello all
I would like to know which sites etc would be advantageous to write an article on
I am a small builder in scotland.
Im new to this search engine optimisation and would appreciate any help you could give

thanks

orion_joel
01-18-2009, 07:31 PM
Start with any local sites that have relevant content. Especially if you are trying to get your own site showing up more, then going local is going to probably provide better results. For two reasons, firstly you are still going to get the benefit from the links, But also you will be getting your name on articles in the same area that you want to work.

Another option is to create your own articles site, or to add the articles themselves to your own website. The one thing that google loves is content, and the more content your website has especially if it has the keywords you think people will be looking for in it, the more you are likely to show up on the search engines.

cbscreative
01-18-2009, 07:43 PM
I would not spend a lot of time (if any) submitting to article sites. Like Joel said, focus on your own site or ones that are specific to your market. The onslaught of junk articles for the sole purpose of SEO has made articles less effective unless you get published on an "authority" site. Any SEO advice that advocates articles is now mostly outdated.

vangogh
01-18-2009, 10:40 PM
You can write articles and submit them to article directories. Just do a search for "article directories" and you'll find plenty. However there's a better approach.