PDA

View Full Version : THammid introducing myself

THammid
05-01-2013, 10:41 PM
Hello. I'm very glad to find this forum. I haven't looked around too much yet and I want to get more of a feel for the culture here before diving into the substantive threads. I expect that more about myself and my business will emerge through posts and responses.

Briefly, I have been a photographer for over 3 decades and I have found an author with whom I put together an ebook. We seem to have similar values and perspectives on fairness and flexibility and we have come to agreement about some fundamentals of our project and business relationship. We have no written agreement yet and we know how important that is to execute asap.

My initial reason for joining this forum is to seek advice on what business structure we should start with given our circumstances which follow. Geoff, the author, lives in Vancouver, B.C. and I live in Los Angeles. Our product is a DVD that contains our ebook and in the near future we will offer it as an online download.

The book is oriented toward the jewelry industry, an arena in which we both have lots of contacts and some substantial recognition. We have sent the book for review by several of these people and have received extremely good results that we believe to be mostly objective. This has helped to bolster our confidence that we will have at least reasonable success.

Some questions we face are as follows:

-What entity should we create in which we conduct this business?

-If we create an entity, such as a corporation where should the entity be located? Canada? What proovince? USA? What state?

-What system should we create to receive income and by what method should it be distributed? We have a profit percentage agreement but we do not know how to set it up practically and most cost effectively.