PDA

View Full Version : Feedback on a business Idea (Home decor)

Monique
04-10-2013, 10:13 AM
Hi

I am planning to start this business for quite some time.
But there are already so many people doing the same thing makes me question if this is a good idea at all
Although I plan to create a unique line of hand embroidered pillows and bedding.
I have no previous business experience so I am looking for inputs ... ....

what should be the first steps.
I plan to do local level marketing at trade shows,expos and social media to begin with .
I plan to get my stuff made in India ....I am also in the process of finalizing a partner/vendor there.
What else should I keep in mind.....and when to add more products to the line or keeping focused on few products is a good idea??

Thanks all for reading !

Harold Mansfield
04-10-2013, 10:36 AM
Hi

I am planning to start this business for quite some time.
But there are already so many people doing the same thing makes me question if this is a good idea at all
There are very few completely original ideas. The difference is in how you do it to set yourself apart and how dedicated you are to seeing it's success.

Although I plan to create a unique line of hand embroidered pillows and bedding.
I have no previous business experience so I am looking for inputs ... ....

what should be the first steps.

Do you need help with licensing? Web Design and Internet Marketing? Import laws? Incorporation?
There are a lot of "first steps", but I'd say you should get together a plan which will force you to answer all of those questions, or at least know what to ask.

What else should I keep in mind.....and when to add more products to the line or keeping focused on few products is a good idea??