PDA

View Full Version : Commercial fisherman Needs Help!

fisherman
04-03-2013, 04:57 AM
I am a commercial fisherman, I have been leasing a boat and permit for 2 years now. I have been hiring a accountant for 7 years now. This year he said he did not have time to do my taxes. he said I need to file a extension, In his defense it took me a long time to get them prepared.

Here is what I need to know.

1.How do I find another accountant familiar with Commercial fishing.

2.I have only been making around $34,000.00 after expenses and everything else it really isnt that much money. the question is that due to needing to save money where I can is the $450.00 he charged me last year a fair price?

3.I filed 10-99's for some of my employees but I didnt get all of them done on January 31rst am I going to be in Trouble?(might be a question for the hopeful future accountant)

4. I just want to reiterate I NEED TO FIND A ACCOUNTANT IN THE SEATTLE AREA THAT IS FAMILIAR WITH COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN TAX PREPERATION!

Thanks if anyone knows anything!

MyITGuy
04-03-2013, 11:18 AM
I am a commercial fisherman, I have been leasing a boat and permit for 2 years now. I have been hiring a accountant for 7 years now. This year he said he did not have time to do my taxes. he said I need to file a extension, In his defense it took me a long time to get them prepared.

Company taxes are due on the 15th of March if I recall correctly, so you definitely need to get a hold of an accountant and they should file the extension request for you.

1.How do I find another accountant familiar with Commercial fishing.
Ask your peers/competitors?
Use the phone book or online searches to find accountants in your area, then call and ask if they are familiar with or can handle your type of account.

Overall, I don't see why they would need to be extremely familiar with commercial fishing, just the tax code to know what type of equipment/operating expenses get you the best deduction.