PDA

View Full Version : Do you really care about the prestige of being a business owner at all?

Ted
03-30-2013, 10:29 AM
I think it is funny that sometimes when my friends introduce me to someone they will say that I own a company. They are obviously looking at it like it is some kind of prestigious position in life. It is kind of like they are saying “Hey my friend Ted is this big time business guy.”

I think it is funny and I sometimes wish they wouldn't do that. I never introduce myself that way. I never even volunteer the fact that I own my own business unless someone specifically asks me about it. When someone asks me what I do for a living, I tell them I am an IT guy. That is it.

I introduce myself as a regular IT guy because I don’t want to go through the typical 20 questions about “How’s business?” “Tell me all about your business.” “Are you worried about the economy?” “Yadda yadda yahha”.

When talking with a person who has just recently started a business, sometimes I get this sense that they think they are now part of this special fraternity of elite people. I find that humorous because I don’t place fellow business owners on any kind of pedestal. To some extent, I do admire the ones who were able to build a successful business from scratch and had it survive past the five year mark because I know how hard that is to do. But, I don’t put them on a pedestal as being exemplary citizens or something like that. I find it humorous that some other people look at us that way.

We are still regular people, maybe more ambitious than the average person, who chose to take action on our dreams. Other than that, we are normal people with all the same character flaws as everyone else.

So, I purposefully try to avoid telling strangers that I am a business owner unless of course I am talking to another business owner or unless the situation would benefit me somehow by revealing that fact.