PDA

View Full Version : lawyer in your pocket

huggytree
01-10-2009, 11:01 AM
i just signed up today for 'prepaid legal services' who's motto is 'have a lawyer in your pocket'

anyone have any experience with this company?...its everywhere

$27 per month and i get unlimited legal letters, free will/power of attorney/ 50 hours of legal defense, and credit monitoring(identity theft) for me the the wife...

i am friends with the salesman and he finally talked me into it...i wonder if because im a small business owner if my social security # is more at risk?
also i have a remodeler who will be getting a legal threat letter soon....

for $333 a year it sounds like a good deal. i paid for it through the business, so tax free also.

Steve B
01-10-2009, 11:35 AM
How long did you have to commit?

This is like any other insurance. It will be a bargain if you use it a lot. Of course, they are banking on the fact that enough people won't need that much service and will be subsidizing those that do - plus their profit.

I'm lucky - my lawyer almost never charges me for the handful of times I call him with a question or to review a document. Either he's very nice, very forgetful, or he's banking on me turning into a huge company that will need lots of his services in the future. I think he's just a nice local lawyer. I've not spent $300 total in the last 5 years on legal fees.

Evan
01-10-2009, 02:33 PM
No, I haven't dealt with prepaid legal services. Not exactly sure how much that differs from services such as Nolo. With Nolo, you're not dealing with an attorney, but they provide you with the resources if you need them.

If you will have an attorney reviewing your legal paperwork, then great. But it also depends on his or her qualifications and years of experience. Then again, even with both, it doesn't mean they are a "good attorney". I stopped counting the law professors I've had which I wouldn't even trust arguing a $25 parking ticket on my behalf.