PDA

View Full Version : is there really a market there?

malihas
03-06-2013, 12:26 AM
Hi,
I'm a freelance designer by profession and have a strong entrepreneurial streak in me. My design business is lucrative and I plan on continuing to keep that as my main bread & butter for a while. However, I know I will not always be a freelancer. I have too many interests and high monetary goals (plus i don't see myself sitting behind a computer for 10 hours a day at the age of 35, which is creeping up on me).
I want to start an e-commerce shop (i am VERY hard-working and a good steward of my money, so i don't have a problem with doing the work involved)... there are other problems lol.... please read on...

I have 2 main issues:
1. I tend to get bored easily, although, there are certain product categories i am more drawn to, esp those that involve sourcing and traveling abroad... would the answer be having an e-shop that becomes like a lifestyle brand that has all the product categories in it that i love? Or will i likely get bored again? Have you'll ever gotten bored of ideas quickly or jumped from an idea to another?? Is there a hidden issue here anyone recognizes?

2. How do I find out what product categories are most lucrative in 2012 and today? I did some research and computers/tech/toys pop up as top categories, but i'm looking at the following - home decor/linens, fashion/accessories, craft supplies. Any idea where I can get some data on this?

Thank you!
M.S.

Freelancier
03-06-2013, 06:31 AM
Everyone is doing tech. It's been done to death. The margins aren't wonderful, especially with so much competition, you have to make it up on volume and that will take time.

Green is the new "tech". Margins are better, competition is fragmented and small. But getting the products is going to be more time consuming, because the distribution channels aren't as mature.