PDA

View Full Version : running a dba under a incorporated name ein tax id

BigTownSigns
02-12-2013, 10:00 PM
hey guys, ive been checking out the forum off and off for about 2 months now, while trying to get my ducks in a row for my new business venture. sorry for the long post. :(

Basically i have an incorporated business..that was opened in 3/2012 for a franchise marketing firm....

I have since decided not to go with that marketing firm franchise and open my own sign/graphics shop.

lets say i have advanced marketing inc, and i will be getting a dba as big town signs.

I have the franchise sales tax cert in the book that i was given from the cpa that set everything up...but i am curious what i will need to do if anything as far as a new ein tax id etc.

i want to run the dba under the inc. because of liability and since i have the inc already..why not put it to use right?!?!

also im sure i will need to update the minuets in the book...does anyone have any general form or guidelines i could use to do that?

any help would be greatly appreciated i tried to search the forum but couldnt find any similar situations..

Oh by the way, im in Houston tx. Harris County.

thanks a bunch
david

vangogh
02-13-2013, 02:22 AM
Welcome to the forum David. If you've been reading awhile, you probably know this isn't my area of expertise, but like I sometimes do I wanted to reply to keep your thread active.

I did some searching and came across this information on the IRS.gov site about when you need a new EIN (http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Do-You-Need-a-New-EIN%3F).