PDA

View Full Version : The Plumber from WI has switched to this forum

huggytree
12-31-2008, 08:57 PM
Hello, Im Huggytree (i dont know why i use this name-its my wifes user name, but we both use it and its easy to remember i guess)

Im a Plumber in the Milwaukee,WI area. Ive been writing on the .com forum for 2 years now and finally got sick of the low level of action...so ive switched to .net.

I was part time(while working for someone else) for 8 months, got fired, went full time and 15 months later I am making 3x what i did when i worked for someone else. the company has existed for 2 years. Ive finally started to feel successful 2 months ago....

I just got done with a great December while everyother plumber is doing poorly. I have 20 small remodelers and new home builders. 1/2 of my income is new and 1/2 remodel. Ive made so many contacts that i constantly get leads from everyone..ive even got a unknown plumber out there giving my name out for projects he cant handle.

I am a 1 man shop and may stay that way. I price myself in the middle of the market, but give high level service. My latest motto is "Reliable, Honest & On Time".....I stress to my customers that i dont skimp on materials and installation practices.

When I went into business I thought i could just be the lowest priced plumber and I would get work. Then I would slowly raise my prices and id be a success....what really happened is i lowered, & lowered, & lowered and never got any jobs. Then I finally lowered it to my actual cost...still didnt get it...then i found out through a supply house rep that someome complained about me being $2500 under him....if $2,500 wasnt low enough to get someone to use me nothing would.....so i raised my price to what i wanted....guess what?...i started to get jobs...