PDA

View Full Version : A graphic design subsection and a subsection for students might be nice.

Jagella
12-31-2008, 02:05 PM
Since I'm currently studying graphic design at an art school I'm thinking that a section here at the Small Business Forum for students and one for basic graphic design might be nice. Issues covered in the student section might include how topics studied in school relate to the “real world” of small business ownership and how students might conduct their own businesses while still in school. The graphic design section could cover topics like preparing documents for prepress and the design of ads, brochures, flyers, and catalogs.

Just a thought!

Jagella

KristineS
12-31-2008, 07:35 PM
It's an interesting idea. We certainly do encourage everyone to ask questions, and I'm sure a lot of the design and preparation questions would fit well in the Marketing section.
The topic of how college classes applies to the real world is interesting too. I know some of the things I studied I've used quite a bit and others were practically useless.

I'll confer with the Steves and see what they think.

Jagella
01-01-2009, 02:56 PM
The topic of how college classes applies to the real world is interesting too. I know some of the things I studied I've used quite a bit and others were practically useless.

As far as I'm concerned, the toughest part of school is to use it effectively to advance one's career or eventually run a business, perhaps. Like you say much of what a person learns in school may turn out to be useless. The problem is, you don't know what will be useless until you actually get the job or start a business. Since everybody's different, what education is useful and what isn't will vary with the individual. If I end up doing all print work, for instance, the Web design I learned in college won't count for a whole lot.

Anyway, I hope that nobody here misses the educational aspect of this forum. I sure don't.

Jagella

vangogh
01-02-2009, 10:41 AM