PDA

View Full Version : The Last Day of the Year

Aaron Hats
12-31-2008, 09:06 AM
I certainly don't think we should wait until the last day of the year to think about our taxes but thought it would make a good topic for discussion. What things have you done to help your businesses tax situation? I'm going to make some charitable donations today to some local charities we like to support. I've been meaning to do it but have been so busy but I'm going to force myself to do it today.

Aaron

Evan
12-31-2008, 08:04 PM
Hi Aaron,
Hope you got a receipt for those charitable contributions!

My tax situation is still pretty favorable for me considering I'm a full-time student and that is where most of my focus still is. For me, my best bet for tax savings lies with the Section 179 deduction for new equipment I had purchased this year for my business.

vangogh
12-31-2008, 09:31 PM
I didn't do anything specific to close out the year, but over the last few months I've been more willing to invest in a few things I knew would be tax deductible. I think I'll be using section 179 like Evan.

huggytree
01-16-2009, 01:30 PM
i gave the max to my SEP IRA...this saved me the double taxing on S.S/Medicare, so i start out with 15%+ more

the negative is i put $12,000 in a couple months ago 4 days before the market dropped... i now have $7,000.....ugggghhhhh.....i added some more in late dec. to the max allowed....this time im letting most of it sit in a moneymarket fund and put 1/6th in each month...lesson learned...

another illegal way to save on taxes is getting customers to pay in cash. im sure this idea is probably on the upswing as things get tighter....im getting more people offering me for a deduction off their bill.

Evan
01-16-2009, 08:23 PM
another illegal way to save on taxes is getting customers to pay in cash. im sure this idea is probably on the upswing as things get tighter....im getting more people offering me for a deduction off their bill.