PDA

View Full Version : Digital TimeClock software? Want to keep track of employees' total time

Chris_Morey
11-13-2012, 10:56 PM
Hey guys, we are a very small publishing company. Most of our employees work virtually, but we have a couple here at the central office. We're needing a way to keep track of employees' hours easily and preferably digitally. Here's what we need:

Essentially something as simple as the employee sits at his/her desk, clicks "START" and the program runs as a stopwatch. Once the employee is done for the day they click "STOP" and then the total time they spent working is automatically logged and stored in a database that keeps track exactly of the amount of time they worked, on what dates, maybe allows notes etc...

Anyone know of a piece of software that does something like this? Thank you to anyone for any help!

billbenson
11-13-2012, 11:22 PM
I'm self employed now, but I was a field salesman working out of my house for a couple different companies for 22 years.

What are these employees doing that you need to micromanage them at this level? If they are doing clerical work, you can pretty easily tell if they are working or not by their work output. The same is true for a software developer or a salesman.

I've had employers try to micromanage me by ridiculous activity reports. I've had good managers who wanted updates on important accounts.

What are these employees doing that you need them to punch in a digital time clock?

ArcSine
11-14-2012, 07:57 AM