PDA

View Full Version : Calculating Cost of Goods and Using Inventory for Personal Use

madeforhome
10-17-2012, 02:31 PM
I am brand new at this small business thing and trying to figure out how to accurately and ethically report all expenses and income. I am a small arts and crafts business mostly taking vintage items and restoring or repurposing them for home decor use. I have kept all my expense receipts from this year and recorded the cost of materials for each item made. My question is, how do I report all the extra stuff like unused spray paint, fabric scraps, extra buttons, etc. for tax purposes. Do those things count against the cost of producing an item? Also, since this is a home based business I often will want to grab that extra spray paint or fabric scrap for my personal use. If I do that, how do I record that, or is it even necessary?

Freelancier
10-17-2012, 02:55 PM
Inventory is something you buy to sell directly without any significant change.

What it sounds like is you have expenses to produce what you're creating/restoring. You can go so far as to figure out the cost of goods sold, but that'll take apportioning the cost of these items against the total number of products you sold from what you bought. I'm not sure you need to do that as long as you're making a profit. It comes in handy when you're trying to lower the per-piece cost, but that's about it.

As for converting things to personal use... how is your business structured, as a corporation/LLC/LLP or as a sole prop?

madeforhome
10-17-2012, 05:51 PM
I am a sole proprietor.

nealrm
10-17-2012, 06:29 PM
I assume you are doing this on a cash basis. Then record the purchase as they are made and record them against that year. You really shouldn't be using business items for personnel use, however a $5 can a spray paint isn't going to amount to much.

Evan
10-17-2012, 08:39 PM