PDA

View Full Version : Is LLC for me?

Tommy Castro
09-30-2012, 03:36 PM
Hello Everyone, I'm new and this is my first post, thanks in advance for the advice...

Me and my fiance are starting a bath & body boutique in New Jersey. Im trying to save $$ and not hire an attorney to setup my legalities of the business. (Is it recommended to hire an attorney or is it possible for me to handle it myself?)
The business is currently ran out of our home, but we plan on opening a brick and mortar store next year.
We are not married yet, and I am the one putting up the funds to startup. She will be the working manager/owner.
I have decided to register this business entity as an LLC..
If an LLC. is the best choice, how do you recommend setup? Should I list my fiance as a member? Should I list our my name and my home address as the the "Registered agent/address"?
For tax purposes is it more beneficial to list me, my fiance or both in the LLC? I work full time as a commissioned salesperson, and my fiance will eventually leaving her job to work the new store full time.

Thanks

Evan
09-30-2012, 04:40 PM
If you're going to be doing business with someone you're in a relationship with, I highly recommend not taking short cuts and getting the involvement of an attorney to draft the appropriate agreements. While everything is going well with you now, if things go sour (not saying they will, but IF) you will want to make sure that this is structured properly. Certainly there are some "out of the box" software packages to prepare this paperwork, and it will get you there. But you should take some caution to ensure it is set up properly.

With that said, if you plan to split profits 50/50, and you're contributing 100% of the initial equity, you'd need to have this as either an LLC or partnership. An S-Corp would require you to make equal contributions, even if that was $1 each, though you could potentially "loan" the business the remainder.