PDA

View Full Version : Is it a good idea to have someone else do all market testing, etc for your business?

fstep2
09-18-2012, 04:24 PM
Long story short i've been thinking of purchasing a business for a while. My initial idea was to get an established website on ebay, flippa or a similar service but then i got thinking that i wouldn't know what to do with it once i have it (my background is in insurance). So would it make sense to hire professionals to get my business to a point where all i really need to do is advertise it? Once interesting thing i found is startupmanufacturer.com they seem to do all 3, provide an established company, teach you everything, and setup the marketing, etc. Just wanna get some input on which direction to go? My mind is set that i want to take the entrepreneurial route in life but i don't have the time or money to go back to school so...

Harold Mansfield
09-18-2012, 06:36 PM
I'm not a big fan of any "ready made" web based business service. Honestly, anytime I hear anyone say that they are going to teach you an online business, I get nervous and immediately think about Jeff Paul's Secret to Internet Millions, and others like him:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/01/get-rich-quick-scams-ftc_n_1467767.html

It's not really like, say, buying a fast food franchise. Yes, eventually you may have to pay someone to teach or do things for you if you don't have the time or inclination to learn on your own. But you will be better served getting into something that you know a little about. You already are going to need to learn the web, no sense in compounding that by having to learn a completely foreign business too.

In reference to Ebay. Making money on Ebay is hard. And it takes time to build your name and reputation if you aren't already an established retailer.

I took a look at the site you referenced:

The Right Way To Start A Business