PDA

View Full Version : A place that does small changes to websites?

Johny_R
09-07-2012, 11:02 AM
I’m a small business owner and I have a website that was put together by a colleague that I’m no longer in touch with. I want to make a few small changes to my website like adding an email subscription form for my newsletters and perhaps adding a button for social media too. I don’t have much idea how a website really works so I need someone else to do these changes for me.

I’m pretty sure that a few small changes like this aren’t going to be enough work to get a web agency to help and I’m weary about just getting some random web developer to do this for me.

Anyone else have the same problem? I wish there was a place to get minor website changes done easily.

vangogh
09-07-2012, 11:23 AM
There are lots of people who will handle small changes like you want. Your project might be too small for a large agency to take on, but there are plenty for freelancers out there who would be happy to take you on as a client. The person you hire doesn't have to be random. Spend a little time researching a few people before you get in touch. You probably have a few criteria in mind for what you want in a web developer. Are you looking for someone local? Does your site run on a particular system? What languages were used to build it? Even a few simple questions like these narrows down the list of people to contact.

Spend a few nights with search results. Ask people you know who works on their site. Generate a list of a dozen or so people who can do the work you need and check out their sites. You should be able to get a feel for someone looking through their site. Pick a few to get in touch with and take it from there.

The worst case should be you aren't satisfied with the work, but if it's a small project there's not a lot of risk. Even if you have to go through a couple of people before finding the right person you'll still be ahead in the long run.