PDA

View Full Version : A legal scheme for Husband wife partnership to pay ZERO SE self-employment tax?

jason.miller.1968
08-30-2012, 11:23 AM
I am a trader and annual profit is between $150K to $500K.

I talked to an EA and was told about a legal scheme for Husband wife partnership to pay ZERO SE self-employment tax:

Step 1: I am the only active/general member and doing everything while my wife has her full-time job (Paid $80K) and does nothing for this partnership.
Step 2: Move $100K from her checking and $1K from my checking to the partnership business checking account
Step 3: In Operating agreement clearly stated that my wife is limited partnership with 99% profit based on capital contribution above
STep 4: Pay myself a minimum guaranteed payment (as salary) because there is no 'reasonable salary' requirement for partnership (not like in S-corp)

Then, since my wife is a limited partner, she does not need to pay SE tax on her distributions. And I pay only nominal SE tax too due to the minimum guaranteed payment and 1% profit distributions.

Too good to be true?

MyITGuy
08-30-2012, 12:02 PM
I am a trader and annual profit is between $150K to $500K.

I talked to an EA and was told about a legal scheme for Husband wife partnership to pay ZERO SE self-employment tax:

I am the only active/general member and doing everything while my wife has her full-time job (Paid $80K) and does nothing for this partnership.
Move $100K from her checking and $1K from my checking to the partnership business checking account
In Operating agreement clearly stated that my wife is limited partnership with 99% profit based on capital contribution above
Pay myself a minimum guaranteed payment (as salary)

Then, since my wife is a limited partnership, she does not need to pay SE tax. And I pay only nominal SE tax too due to the minimum guaranteed payment and 1% profit.

Too good to be true?

I can't speak to your specifics, but my understanding is: