PDA

View Full Version : Finding my niche, need help !

HandyMarketer
07-22-2012, 04:51 PM
Hello all,

I have started a blog a few months ago: The Handy Marketer (http://www.handymarketer.com) and I have some confusion in my head as to what I want to talk about and who it's addressed for.

As the name says it's all about marketing, but I am not into social media marketing, as opposed to most of the blogs out there these days. Basically I've been working in various marketing and communications for the last 8 years, and I've learned a lot of things on the job, even quite advanced graphic design. I'm a hands on person and like to do lots of things myself, so I usually have plenty of tips to share with my colleagues.
When I started my career I was working with agencies but then I learned how to design stuff myself and found it very useful. I then went into learning Wordpress and creating websites and that proved to be extremely useful too. So now I would like to share what I learned and offer tips and advice to people in similar situations: students getting in their new jobs, small business owners having to do their marketing or marketing professionals looking for help.

The thing is I don't know how to present my blog. I am not a graphic designer by training and it's not my full time job, so I don't want to have a graphic design blog. But at the same time I like teaching the basics of design so that business owners could create a brochure, a newsletter or a website without spending a fortune.

When looking for similar sites however I always fall back on social media or internet marketing blogs. I know it's an important part of Marketing today (and I am using too so will eventually write about it), but what about traditional marketing?