PDA

View Full Version : "Nofollow" in links for Article Submissions

JunkDawgs
07-03-2012, 01:01 PM
I was hoping someone could afford me a brief education on the "nofollow" links. I recently submitted an article and was in contact with the webmaster for the site and he said he would remove the "nofollow" for me. I'm still learning this aspect of SEO and am unclear as to what it is and how I can avoid having it in my links in the first place. I know some article submission sites allow for HTML code where you can insert up to a link or two within the body, but not in the first paragraph. However, while I was editing one of these articles I saw the "nofollow" within the code that I didn't put there myself, almost as if the site did it. Thoughts?

vangogh
07-04-2012, 01:04 PM
Nofollow links don't pass value in the eyes of search engines. The idea is that the site owner isn't casting a vote for the value of the link. They're used on comments for example since anyone can post a comment and link to anything. Generally you'd prefer to have links pointing back to your site that don't include nofollow, but don't spend too much time worrying about it. It's naturally for some links pointing to your site to have nofollow.

As far as the general idea of submitting articles to places like Ezine and other directories, don't bother. It's not a strategy that's going to help. Better is to get to know the sites in your industry and try to get published on those. It's harder, but it'll be far more effective. Look for sites that likely have an audience similar to the audience you want for your site. Those are the sites you want to write for. It won't matter much whether or not links are nofollowed or not, because real people will click the links and visit your site.

This may sound counterintuitive, but if you sometimes ignore search engines and think about real people, you'll find you do things that search engines also like and it'll help your pages rank better.

jamiesonline