PDA

View Full Version : Paying myself: S-corp

agalihax0
06-25-2012, 07:35 PM
I am new to the whole business owner situation, and I have a few questions about paying myself.

I am the President/CEO of a S-Corp. There are no other officers/stockholders in this company, just me. Right now I pay myself just as any other employee. I only pay myself when I work, just like everyone else. However, being a construction based business, without contracts the hours get slow and I would like to know other ways to pay myself. The company is only a little over a year old, and I really don't want to start paying myself a salary.. as I don't know how much I should pay myself right now, I'm working more on getting the company built up. With personal obligations popping up, I was wondering if there's a way to say.. withdraw $5-10k from the business account and put in my personal account? Does that draw red flags for the IRS, or do I just let me accountant know what moneys I used to personally pay myself when she goes to do my taxes?

I'm don't really understand the whole paying myself dividends/profits.. just not sure if it's possible to take some money out of the account without it sending red flags.. or just not something I'm allowed to do.

Thank you :)

Evan
06-27-2012, 11:52 PM
I'd consult with your CPA about this specifically, as it will depend on your specific facts and circumstances.

You need to pay yourself a reasonable wage/salary based on your contribution to the company. So if you're paying yourself for the time you work, at a reasonable rate (what you'd hire someone else to do this same work), you'll be fine. If you find that isn't enough, you could issue a bonus (subject to payroll taxes), or perhaps a distribution/dividend may be best. I have no idea as to your specific numbers, and all of those would influence the answer.

BP Writer
06-28-2012, 01:15 AM