PDA

View Full Version : I Need To Submit My Website To Search Engines Within the Next Two Weeks

KingHippo
11-29-2008, 01:33 AM
I'll be doing my official website and product launch within the next two weeks. I've been working on mostly internal websites that do not get put into search engines, so I have little experience with submitting websites to search engines and do not know SEO to get to the top. Can someone point me in the right direction as to the basics of SEO? Is it possible for a little guy to get to the top 10 on Google or Yahoo?

billbenson
11-29-2008, 02:57 AM
Pretty sure Vangogh has a blog on the subject. A short answer is yes. Write a big site in a very specific niche. Use all the tags properly. Optimize each page for only one key phrase. Generally 3 word key phrases are the best. You won't get there optimizing a computer site for computers. Try to add unique content daily and updates daily. You can program CMS's to do that.

After that, you get into gray areas like linking strategies, dup content penalties, keyword density etc.

I think the biggest piece of advice is don't take any one or group of peoples advice. It varies from type of site, to multisite strategies... Just read everything you can and make your own judgments. You won't figure it out in two weeks though.

You mentioned submitting to search engines. Just stick a link somewhere and the search engines will find you. Google says not to use autosubmitters like web position gold etc. They don't like it.

vangogh
11-29-2008, 01:46 PM
First don't bother submitting your site to a search engine. It won't help your pages rank and it's mainly a pointless pursuit. Search engines will find your site if there are other sites linking to it. An easy way to have search engines find you is to add a link to the site in your signature here. Search engines spider this forum regularly and if you have a sig link and continue to post, they'll follow the link(s) and find your site.