PDA

View Full Version : Working as contractor, question about some expenses

ketanco
06-04-2012, 09:37 AM
Hello,

First of all this is my first post here and I want to say hi to everyone.

Here is my question...

I am an engineer and currently working full time as a contractor in a big firm, say company A. I am actually getting my checks from a staffing firm. So the supervisor in company A approves my timesheet every week, and i send it to the staffing firm, and they write my checks. the staffing firm sends me W2, and they withold my federal , state taxes etc... but i dont have any employee benefits such as vacation, 401k, health insurance etc.. whatsoever.

1-now my question is, when i do this kind of work, can i deduct my expenses such as transportation costs to and from the work place? and other similar expenses, directly related to this work? what other kind of expenses do you think i can deduct?

2-if the answer to #1 is yes, do these expenses in total need to be larger than my standard deduction in order to be worth deducting it? in other words, if my standard deduction is more than the total of these expenses, is it not even worth mentioning those expenses?

3-I have an LLC business too, which is an internet based business with no employees, which is totally irrelevant to the contracting work i am doing. It is based on a few websites that brings me a little income on the side, and all I do for that is to update my websites sometimes in my free time thats all. That LLC business and my working as contractor somewhere is totally independent from each other correct? i do schedule C for my LLC business.

vangogh
06-05-2012, 01:01 AM
Welcome to the forum ketanko. I'm not an account or any kind of tax export so don't hold me to any of the following. Hopefully I'll help keep this thread relevant so those who can answer better will be more likely to see it.