PDA

View Full Version : Google hates me...

lionize
05-03-2012, 10:07 PM
...and honestly I'm starting to rethink my feelings toward them. I am an amateur designer at best and have zero SEO skills. When I designed my first serious website, I took the approach that if I created good quality original content then I should eventually receive some modest traffic from the search engines and possibly some from other websites related to the subject matter. Obviously I was extremely naive and far too optimistic.
Although I have 80 some back-links from approximately 20 different websites which I never pursued, the search engines essentially ignore my site. Now, not all the back-links are from relevant websites but a good portion of them are and although the content may not be award winning it is well written and all original. So my question is, can the average dude with a very limited budget learn to compete for organic search traffic or...and please be honest...is SEO really just a mystery wrapped in a riddle? Because that is how it seems to me after a solid year of patience.

billbenson
05-03-2012, 10:40 PM
IMO, marketing is the most important part of web site success. SEO is part of marketing. You say you have zero SEO skills. Why? With all that is debated about web design, I have never seen anyone state that SEO is unimportant.

This kind of reminds me of a company I worked for years ago. The president who was an engineer developed a Telecom Switch that never sold. Spent millions in development. He made the comment "customers should buy it because its better". It didn't sell because he made a product looking for a market. He did no decent marketing on many levels for the product including pre design market analysis. He got fired.

I'd say its time to learn web marketing including SEO.

vangogh
05-04-2012, 12:28 AM