PDA

View Full Version : Dilbert takes on SEO

Business Attorney
02-17-2012, 05:52 PM
I read the Dilbert comic strip (http://dilbert.com/strips/comic/2012-02-17/) on the train ride downtown this morning and feel compelled to share it:

vangogh
02-17-2012, 07:21 PM
Funny. And sadly all too often true. Very easy to imagine a real conversion like this happening in some corporate offices.

nealrm
02-18-2012, 09:00 PM
So dis-respectful; so slanderous. I can't believe that Dilbert would stoop so low as to compare a poor weasel to a SEO consultant. The weasels of the world should revolt. :D

dacousin
03-16-2012, 09:32 AM
Most people don't know what SEO is, those who do know what it is think that we are basically hackers manipulating Search Engine's algorithms, I think it might be better if they didn't know what SEO was

Upzee
04-16-2012, 12:52 PM
I've been doing SEO for over 10 years and every time someone asks me what I do I say "search engine optimization" and then follow it up with a quick explanation. I've hardly ever ran into any one that even knew what it was. Surprised to see a comic taking a shot at SEO.

nealrm
04-16-2012, 05:05 PM
Unfortunately, some SEO company are not really very moral and that has put a bad rep on the others. Not a day goes by that I don't receive several email promising to put me at the top of Google, Yahoo, Bing and other search engines. They are clearly automated and are clearly spam.

billbenson
04-16-2012, 05:41 PM
The funny thing is my site is 1 or 2 on G for my best keyword and I still get these emails....

vangogh
04-17-2012, 01:28 AM
I've hardly ever ran into any one that even knew what it was

I think the seo and search engine optimization have entered into the vocabulary of the masses with websites. Not all, but a lot more than would have known a few years. Unfortunately seo has a bad reputation, so bad that legitimate SEOs would like to rebrand what the profession is called.

cbscreative
04-17-2012, 02:10 PM