PDA

View Full Version : Where Would I Advertise IT Educational Products At?

KingHippo
11-09-2008, 11:17 PM
I've never done any "real advertising" before. I have IT educational products almost ready and I need to think about how I'm going to advertise. Also, I'm not too familiar with how much I need to spend to advertise. My products are only going to sell for around $49 - $99 each. Can someone point me in the right direction? Has anyone used Google Adwords successfully?

Steve B
11-10-2008, 02:24 AM
Google adwords has worked very well for me.

I think more details about your product would help get better answers for you. Are you interested in selling locally, nationally, internationally? Is it software? What is your target market - kids, adults, small business owners? Do you have a website already?

Watchdog
11-10-2008, 06:19 AM
The adwords set up is "trial & error" you have to choose the proper keywords to be successful and keep it affordable, you need to set up a budget which you'll set up anyway for advertising - an advantage is that you can set your daily limits too. So if you set up 300.00 per month, I think you can choose to only use 10.00 of it per day...sounds easy to me, you just ahve to get the right keywords so it becomes efficient and effective advertising.

I stopped using adwords a few months back, as everytime I turned around I had to pay more for the keyword I wanted to use. But then again, I was on a shoestring budget and the "fraud click throughs" hype was going around so I just dropped out of that...

vangogh
11-10-2008, 11:57 AM
Who's you're market? Are you products geared for newbies or IT professionals?

AdWords is definitely one way you can advertise. It'll come down to managing your campaigns and choosing appropriate phrases to bid on. It's still similar to what you need to do even if you don't use AdWords.