PDA

View Full Version : WordPress and ecommerce

dynocat
01-10-2012, 11:03 AM
I'm sorry for my long absence from SBF. I'm impressed with how much the site and membership has grown. It looks very active and helpful as always. Great work, everyone. I'm looking forward to being more involved here.

I know a few (or maybe quite a few) of you here use WordPress. I'm a newbie with it, hoping I haven't bitten off more than I can chew. ;)

This site will be new with just 4 products for sale for now. There will be several informational pages and possibly an interactive blog to create more customer interest.

A hosting account is set up at Bluehost.
My domain's DNS is pointed to bluehost.
WordPress 3.31 is installed.
FileZilla FTP is set up and connected to site.
I purchased a theme, Intelligible, from ThemeForest. Not yet installed as wp had a problem finding the css stylesheet, even though I see a folder full of stylesheets in the download.
I will be using Ecwid for the ecommerce part of it. I'm somewhat familiar with the software.

That's where I'm at.

My questions, for now, are:

What is the best way to start learning wordpress? I've used various site builders in the past but nothing like this.

Do I want to download a copy of the site to my computer to play/work with? Is it as simple as doing a backup in wp?

In the FTP, why in the remote site are some of the folders showing question marks over the folder? I could upload a screenshot if needed.

Also any suggestions how to install the theme when wp says there is no css stylesheet?

Thanks for any and all responses.

vangogh
01-10-2012, 02:28 PM
No need to apologize for any absence. Just good to see you back. :)

As far as the learning is concerned what do you specifically want to learn? Are you concerned more with how to publish new content or more how to edit the theme files and change the design? Both perhaps?