PDA

View Full Version : Copywriter Networking Groups

christinagilman
01-05-2012, 01:26 AM
I'm fairly new to freelance copywriting, (The majority of my professional writing experience comes from writing while working for a business). Now that I'm on my own, I think I'd benefit from some type of networking with other copywriters, either in person or online.

Do any of the copywriters/freelance commercial writers on this forum have a networking group they'd recommend?

vangogh
01-05-2012, 05:50 PM
I may not be a copywriter, but I thought I'd chime in anyway. First I would ask why you want to network with other copywriters. I'm guessing the idea is to have a group to ask and answer questions and generally help with being a freelance copywriter.

I just did some quick searching and didn't find any social networks specifically for copywriters. You may want to search for some copywriting blogs. It wouldn't surprise me if some also have forums on their site. Coincidentally enough CopyBlogger (a great blog on copywriting and marketing) posted a list of 13 copywriting blogs (http://www.copyblogger.com/copywriting-blogs-2011/) today. The few I checked didn't have forums attached, but you can always converse with people through the comments on the blog. There's certainly networking potential there and if you ever come across a post on any of them about social networking in general they'll likely list places to network and it would be a good time to ask the same question you're asking here.

You may also find sub communities within larger networks like Facebook and LinkedIn. Another quick search on LinkedIn led me to some copywriter groups within and I'm sure there are similar groups on Facebook.

One other thought is once you have an audience around your blog and people are commenting you could always add some social components to your own site and bring the network to you.

You also have one new subscriber to your blog. :)

Dan Furman
01-06-2012, 11:37 AM