PDA

View Full Version : SEO Copywriters what do you do in this situation??

christinagilman
12-23-2011, 03:30 AM
I've been a business writer for a while, but when I went freelance and people started asking me to do their webpage copy, the first question that comes up is "can you do SEO copywriting?" Well, as a predominately offline (print) writer, this was never something that concerned me before. I was hoping to get some clarification from the SEO copywriters on this forum:

I understand that keywords are very important for ranking. This makes sense, as search engine spiders determine what your site is about via the text. However, my questions is: how much weight do keywords REALLY have for overall search engine results? And what are copywriters supposed to do about the multitude of other influencing factors?

I know there is a WHOLE lot more to ranking than just keywords. And I can write the best copy in the world with the perfect keyword density, but a client still may not rank.

Many of my clients do not believe me when I say this. They merely think that by "stuffing keywords" they'll rank higher automatically. As an SEO copywriter, how do you really help your clients rank higher? Does the copywriter also create link building campaigns, clean up HTML to be spider friendly, etc? Or do they refer the client to an SEO expert after the copy has been completed?

Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated :)

billbenson
12-23-2011, 09:26 PM
I'll just make one quick comment. There are others far more knowledgeable here to give you a good answer.