PDA

View Full Version : Not sure about work preformed not under contract

rcole
11-01-2011, 05:34 PM
Hi everyone I am a painting contractor. I just started a project for a rental management co. I have done lots of work for in the past .I gave an estimate in writing and was asked to update it before starting any work and did so. They gave me a small check to start the [project and I did so, after 3 weeks of prep work (wich is about 50 to 60 % of the job) I cant get them to finialize by chosing a color <had lots of reasons like Im sick and not quite shure yet and I need to go out of town for the weekend . and so on I have about 4 buildings ready for paint but I have a bad feeling. ....My question is ...Is my not signed contract binding in any way . numours conversations about the job led me to belive that they had every intenion of compleating this .I have paid out labor and materials that exceed the 1st draw amount and now they wont answer the phone calls or emails . running out of nice weathwe and we schudle this for a 3 month job so I have not picked up any work for this time frame ... what to do>>??????
Any help in this matter would helpful
Thanks
Rob
Sunrise painting

vangogh
11-01-2011, 08:05 PM
Welcome to the forum Rob. Sorry to hear about the problems your having on this job.

I'm not an attorney so please know everything I'm about to say is just guesswork. Not having the contract signed probably isn't something in your favor, though I would think that they paid you something to start the job shows they intended for you to do the work so that might work in your favor. I would document as best as you can every thing you have in writing from them to show their intent to hire you. I'd also try to write down every conversation that you can remember. Still you'll really need to consult an attorney if things are going to take the path.