PDA

View Full Version : Integrating a Finished Product into Design

pcmcc
10-11-2011, 11:00 AM
Hello,

First post here, and I have a question. Are there any potential problems with integrating a finished product into my own product design and selling it? I am looking at making permanent rotating display cases. There is a manufacturer that sells bulk rotating turntables at a great price. This is already a finished product; with the intention of displaying goods. I aim to modify the tray and build an enclosure around it. As far as I can tell, the design is not patented, and it would be too expensive for me to justify producing the turntable myself, at least initially. Does anyone forsee any problems with this approach? Should I ask the manufacturer if they have any objections? And if I wanted, could I patent a design using this product as the base? Thank you, I would really appreciate some advice.

vangogh
10-11-2011, 10:19 PM
I'm not a lawyer, but I'm pretty sure you can't use their product as part of your own. You might be able to build on their design for the product and I'll emphasize might to create your own design, but you likely need their permission to use their product as part of your own. I think if you do the company can sue you so it's not worth taking the chance.

However I think you can offer a service where you customize their product into something new. I think that would mean having your customers buy the product and then hiring you to customize each. I don't think you could patent your design since it includes theirs. Again though, I'm not an attorney.

You could contact the company and try to work out a deal, though be prepared for them to say no and possibly run with your idea if they like it. It is possible they might license their product to you.

billbenson
10-12-2011, 12:41 AM
That's what Value Added Resellers (VAR) do? How the contracts work for things like that I don't know.

vangogh
10-12-2011, 01:00 AM