PDA

View Full Version : The best way to approach owners of brick and mortar businesses?

mfine
10-02-2011, 01:26 AM
Please help me!

My background consists of customer service for several thousand websites and website design. I was also technical support. Previously I worked for other companies and my services were sometimes outsourced to much larger corporations who were website providers for other businesses (complicated relationship, I know, suffice to say, I did a lot of design work and website design and I was a webmaster for a lot of companies). I used to laugh when customers assumed (and lamented) that I was one of possibly dozens of people managing the phones, when it was just me who handled all those thousands of websites all by myself. I couldn't tell them that, of course, but it was always me who answered the phone. Although I was annoyed that I was replacedby one of the companies who was subcontracting, it also made me a little proud because they replaced me with over three dozen people! That's when I realized, one of me is worth three dozen people. Now I want to use my skills to start my own company and work for myself. The problem is that I'm not a salesperson, and I need to learn how to do that if I'm going to profit off my skills instead of making a profit for someone else.