PDA

View Full Version : I'd like some tips about my preparing tax returns.

Jagella
08-29-2011, 09:10 AM
Hello friends:

I plan to take a tax preparation course next month with a local tax-preparation firm. I'm hoping to get hired by this firm and start working for them during the 2012 tax reason. At this point I'm wondering what knowledge and skills I will need to succeed at this work. I'm studying J.K. Lasser's Your Income Tax 2011, and I am using H&R Block At Home software to practice preparing federal and state tax returns. Obviously, I need basic knowledge about the federal, state, and local tax laws. I'll also need to know my employer's proprietary software and its business policies.

What I'm not so sure about are the needs of the average tax payer who wants tax-preparation service. What are the most common tax scenarios I might encounter? How common is taxable passive income, for example? Will I encounter customers with "gray-area" income and deductions that may or may not be taxable or deductable?

Thanks!

Jagella

SmallBman
08-29-2011, 01:28 PM
I can tell you what I will be looking for as a small business owner. Actually I work with my father at his trucking company that has 30 trucks. We would be looking to write off maintenance, fuel, and depreciation on these trucks. We also own a building and supply yard in which we buy and sell material. We pay ourselves a fixed salary every two weeks for which we pay our own taxes. There are essentially two companies the trucking and supply that also have tax liabilities. Furthermore we are thinking of using a Payroll company next year and I'm not sure how that applies to the overall situation.

Evan
08-29-2011, 10:01 PM
If you work at any of the tax preparation chains, your clients are going to be significantly different than those at a bookkeeping firm, a small CPA firm, a medium-sized CPA firm, or a regional/large accounting firm (each of which are different).