we raised our prices in March we were charging this
particular customer only $15.00 for the truck charge. In
March we started charging this customer $20.00. We have
received a request asking us to go back to the $15.00 truck
charge. The customer sited the fact that gas prices have
gone down significantly since March. That may be true, but
the "retail" prices have not gone down too much. I
want to tell this customer in a nice way that I apologize, but
we cannot lower our truck charge to $15.00.

Any suggestions on how I can present this in a positive,
business manner and not come out looking like we're greedy?

Thanks.

Spider
08-22-2011, 06:36 PM
You want to lose the customer that gives you with the most work and on whom you probably make the most profit, for $5?

What am I missing here?

How big is your operation? Where are you located? How far is the truck driving for this $20/$15 charge?

noshmarketing
08-22-2011, 08:32 PM
Agree with Frederick. Although I'm new to running a business, I've been an independent contractor for a few years. My most difficult customers were the ones who paid the least and complained the most. I would avoid changing your business model or components of it just to please them. Make room for people who value what you provide at the cost you provide it.

uis
08-23-2011, 11:54 AM
We are a small business located in San Antonio, TX. Employees consist of my husband and two (2) other workers. The truck driving varies; it is between 20 miles round trip to 50 miles round trip.
Thank you for your response. Is it still the same?

Spider
08-23-2011, 02:31 PM
We are a small business located in San Antonio, TX. Employees consist of my husband and two (2) other workers. The truck driving varies; it is between 20 miles round trip to 50 miles round trip.
Thank you for your response. Is it still the same?20-50 miles? for $15 or $20?