PDA

View Full Version : Learning from building a successful website

thinkingman
07-28-2011, 09:02 AM
Hello All,

Please help me test an idea that I think will give you an extra hour a day.

I am a web designer who has a lot of clients who email me small changes and trust that they are done. This results in some quite hefty hourly rates for basic work.

I am considering shifting to a flat fee for clients so they can get better value. This service would include site development, all future updates and even hosting of your site.

The benefit to the small business owner is

- no big upfront cost for site development
- ondemand changes just an email away to be completed within 48 hours and
- easily add other services (e.g. email marketing that you don't have time for)
- take your site with you when you are ready to move on

Would this be of interest to you?

If not how could the offer be changed to appeal more to your needs?

Any other ideas?

Thanks

Thinking Man

thebizinator
07-28-2011, 06:35 PM
Welcome to the forum Thinking Man.

I'd suggest charging a flat fee for the initial design and then switch to a monthly rate that gives your client a certain predetermined amount of updates every month in terms of your work-hours. What do you think?

thinkingman
07-29-2011, 03:31 AM
Thanks Biz,

I want to remove as many blocks out of the signup process so an upfront fee would not be suitable. I am looking for long term relationships here so need to make the acquisition as easy as possible.

At the most i would take the initial design out of their first months hours as its not likely they will need too many updates in that period anyway.

Cheers

MyITGuy
07-29-2011, 12:33 PM
If you want to remove the upfront fees to prevent a block, then I would recommend that you implement a minimum term commitment, or a cancellation fee so you can recoup your expected revenue for your time/services before the they "take your site with you when you are ready to move on".

DeniseTaylor