PDA

View Full Version : percentage split between partnership

mitch
07-19-2011, 03:16 PM
I am entering into a two person partnership. We are currently trying to figure out how we should split the income percentage wise. My partner is investing all the money (about 10 thousand) into the company. It is a children's clothing company we are starting. I am a designer and I am taking care of all the production and design. Which means I have designed all the clothes and have arranged all of the manufacturers. I've basically done all of the work. Without my contacts and knowledge of the process my partner wouldn't be doing this so I am a valuable asset to my partner. Also, my partner is a very accomplished family photographer with a large following. the reason I point that out is because these clients are who we are going to marketing the product too.

My partner proposed that we do a 70/30 split. she gets 70 and I get 30 percent. I realize that she is taking a huge risk because she is investing and I have not invested any money but have provided the means and the knowledge to bringing it all together.

So I'm wondering what a fair split would be? Also would it be a good idea to actually do something like at 80/20 or a 90/10 split until she gets all of the money back that she invested, then at that point we would split maybe a 50/50?

I'm planning on investing everything I make back into the company so if everything goes well I will also be investing in the next season. So I can see a problem in the future when we are both investing money and I'm still doing most of the work. Any feedback on this would be much appreciated.

Business Attorney
07-19-2011, 03:57 PM