PDA

View Full Version : getting a domain

orion_joel
10-17-2008, 02:54 AM
Hi All,

Hoping for some point of views here. I am looking for a domain for a new project, i know what i want, but i am also looking for some back up idea's. One option i have thought about is is using some initials then a word. As an example (not the actual one) cbphones.com (which would be initials for crazy bobs phones).

I have one domain already earmarked which i think will work but not sure if it will be catchy enough but have an idea for a domain in similar format to the above which i think would be much more catchy. But not to sure on the initials approach.

Business Attorney
10-17-2008, 11:10 AM
I am not a marketing professional but I'll give you my two cents worth: it depends on how you plan to use the domain and how you plan to market it.

On the one hand, I believe (based on my personal experience and what I have read) that having your keywords in your domain name is helpful to your search engine ranking. My IllinoisBusinessAttorney.com and LimitedLiabilityCompanyCenter.com domain names are long and cumbersome but they rank well in every major search engine. The names are also self explanatory. To me, that is what I wanted.

On the other hand, domain names which contain generic terms are not distinctive. Would you rather market "YouTube" or "OnlineVideos"? "Flickr" or "OnlinePhotos"? Without marketing (viral or otherwise), the name Flickr is meaningless. With marketing, it is a much more valuable mark than a generic domain name.

KristineS
10-17-2008, 12:39 PM
The best domain names are easy to remember, easy to enter into a search engine and relevant to your business and your site.

Longer domain names or domain names that are quirky can, as David pointed out, be useful, but they will take a lot more marketing to imprint in people's minds. If you're willing to put in the time and effort you can make almost any domain name work. Some will just take a lot more effort than others.