PDA

View Full Version : Entering A Partnership...

LocalDelivery
06-09-2011, 04:23 AM
I'm entering a partnership in a messenger service. I have 15 years of experience in the industry, but I'm new to the partnership and business side of things. My partner has a successful Air Courier company, and wants to start a messenger service in Los Angeles that he will fund. He wants to know what I have in mind in terms of the partnership? What percentage should I request? 60/40? And what questions should I ask to protect myself?

Spider
06-09-2011, 09:04 AM
If your partner is going to provide all the money for this venture, I think the main question is, What are you going to do to protect him? If he is carrying 100% of the risk, he ought to be getting 100% of the reward. So, before you can determine what percentage you might ask for, ask yourself, What am I contributing ot this partnership?

What will you be contributing to the partnership?

LocalDelivery
06-09-2011, 02:10 PM
My contribution will be service/work. I'm supplying our initial clients, and will be responsible for sales, and the entire operation. I'm trying to settle on an idea of what would be fair to both, in this situation. Thanks for replying Spider.

Spider
06-09-2011, 02:28 PM
The initial clients to whom you refer - do you have them already? Like, are they currently paying clients you are serving right now? If so, how many are there? And what is the total number of regular clients you feel would be necessary for a robust business?

LocalDelivery
06-09-2011, 03:25 PM
These are personal relationships with the decision makers of (8) companies (4) Film post-production (2) Legal Firms (1) Advertising Traffic (1) Architectural Firm, who have commited to our service upon opening.

Spider
06-09-2011, 04:26 PM